His tricks to win the Laureus against Hamilton, Lebron James or Lewandowski

Rafael Nadal at the last Australian Open, he had the chance to become the first tennis player in history to win 21 Grand Slams. Finally it was Novak Djokovic who won this tournament, which has placed him two Grand Slams from the Balearic Islands and Federer. And it seems that the three best tennis players, at least as far as Grand Slams are concerned, have coincided in time. Behind them are racket legends such as Pete sampras with 14 o Björn Borg with 11. While Federer has won the award five times Laureus to the best world athlete of the year, Djokovic it has been imposed four times, by only one of Nadal. Now the Spanish is nominated again along with Lewis hamilton, Lebron James, Robert Lewandowski, Armand Duplantis Y Joshua Cheptegei.

Rafael Nadal has shown in 2020 that it is still capable of overcoming any adversity at its 34 years. The world of sports stopped due to the coronavirus but, although Roland Garros was postponed until October, which caused many tennis players to accuse the cold, the Mallorcan has managed to maintain his love affair with this tournament. After beating Novak Djokovic in three sets, Rafa Nadal became the first tennis player to win the same Grand Slam thirteen times. And he did not do it in any way, since the Spanish did not give up any set in the entire tournament.

Nadal is the best tennis player in history on clay and this is something that the Laureus Awards have not recognized, which tend to have a special predilection for tennis players. And it is that Roger Federer is the athlete who has won this award the most times, which has been awarded since 2000. The Swiss has won five Laureus while Djokovic or Usaint bolt they have been imposed on four occasions.

Nadal’s great rivals

Next to Rafael Nadal, is nominated for the Laureus Lewis Hamilton, who won with Leo Messi last edition. In favor of the British he plays that in this 2020 he has equaled Michael Schumacher with seven Formula 1 World Cups, breaking some records of the German driver. However, given that this 2021 could be proclaimed eighth champion, the Laureus they could wait until 2022 to award him again.

In the case of LeBron James, these awards have never recognized the work of a basketball player. While they could do it with the eaves of 38 years After he has won his fourth NBA ring, his first with the Lakers, there are players who have won more. There are also players who have scored more points, although Lebron James He is already third in this classification after having surpassed another legend like Kobe Bryant in 2020.

Lewandoski will be another of Rafa Nadal’s rivals at Laureus. In a year in which the Ballon d’Or has not been awarded due to the coronavirus, the Pole has won The Best by beating Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Robert Lewandoski has won it all with Bayern Munich and has scored a total of 54 goals, so it will be necessary to see if these merits serve to be decorated as the best world athlete of the year, a year in which there has not been a European Championship.

Least favorites

It could also play a trick on Duplantis in the Laureus that the Olympic Games could not be played. Even so, the Swede has been able to break the pole vault record at the Torun World Cup with 6.17, a mark that he surpassed again a week after Glasgow, where he jumped 6.18.

Nor has he been able to complete a great 2020 confirming his superiority in the Cheptegei Olympic Games. The Ugandan athlete has become the 10th man in history to hold world records for 5,000 and of 10,000 meters at the same time. However, his candidacy is the one that should least disturb Rafael Nadal.

The Laureus, in debt to Rafa Nadal

On the other hand, it is clear that the Laureus owe, at least, one more recognition to Nadal when comparing the times he has been awarded with respect to Roger Federer or Novak Djokovic. However, the Balearic tennis player has the Laureus for the best international comeback of the year, an award he received in 2014; and with the Laureus for the best world promise of the year, an award that was awarded in 2006, at the age of 20 years.

Latest posts